In this their fifth album, the 2nd South Carolina String Band once again brings you the songs and music that moved the American people of the early and mid-eighteen hundreds. They play the music that was in the hearts and minds and on the tongues of the citizen-soldiers that made up the ranks of the armies of the North and the South as they marched off to take part in the cataclysmic struggle that was to become the defining event of our nation’s history. They play it on instruments of the era and in an authentic manner and style that carries the listener back to simpler times.

Song list:

  1. Nelly Bly
  2. Hard Crackers Come Again No More
  3. Stonewall Jackson’s Way/Garryowen
  4. Listen to the Mockingbird/Siege of Vicksburg
  5. Amazing Grace
  6. Clare de Kitchen
  7. Kelton’s Reel/Waiting For the Federals
  8. My Old Kentucky Home
  9. The Yellow Rose of Texas
  10. Southron’s Battle Cry of Freedom
  11. The Minstrel Boy
  12. Southron’s Tramp! Tramp! Tramp!
  13. Jim Along Josie
  14. Sweet Evalina
  15. War Song of Dixie
  16. Hawks and Eagles